Credit: Jill Field, 1980
Nova Scotian Artists display their works at Gallery 215 in the charming setting of the historic Selma Schoolhouse. It is definitly worth a visit.
History of the Selma Schoolhouse
The Old Selmah Schoolhouse
In March, 1818 a schoolhouse was originally provided for the community of Selma by Edward Cole.
Later, land was given by John Pratt for a new schoolhouse, which burned in 1865. Construction of the present building was begun that year and officially opened in February, 1868.
Local shipbuilders (Alfred Putnam, W.D. Lawrence, Archibald McCallum, A.A. MacDougall, the Smith and Blots families, among other influential families) wanted a schoolhouse that would reflect their achievements in the flourishing local shipbuilding industry. The best materials were employed in its construction. The skill and craftsmanship of the ship building carpenters, so abundant in this industry in the mid Nineteen century, are reflected in the style and finish of the schoolhouse. Evidence of this is seen in the Palladian-style windows with their arched window "brows" on the gable and front sides, and pieced facing boards, brackets and transom windows over the front doors. The bell tower capped the centre of the roof of this picturesque style building - unique on these shores.
Gallery 215 - Events
Opening Reception: Sunday June 2nd, 1:00 to 4:00 pm
Sunday June 16th, 11:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday July 14th, 11:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday July 28th., 11:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday August 4th, 11:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday August 18th, 11:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday September 1st, 11:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday September 15th, 11:00 am to 2:00 pm